28th February 2018

The Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship (MSN Rally Championship) in association with MSVR is delighted to announce that leading tyre manufacturer Michelin have renewed their partnership for a fourth season, extending their partnership as Official Tyre Partner into 2019.

The agreement, will ensure that competitors will once again have the opportunity to run on Michelin tyres as well as benefit from the advice and knowledge accumulated throughout the company’s 137 years in motorsport. Both of the previous two championship winners, 2016’s James Sharrock and last year’s champion Ian Woodhouse both benefited from the Michelin experience. The partnership ensures that Michelin will bring their WRC-standard tyres to the national championship; as competitors will once again be able to take advantage of the Michelin Pilot Sport R tyre, a new innovative tyre used in the WRC to provide Total Performance in both wet and dry.

Darren Spann, championship co-ordinator said: “We are extremely proud to continue our partnership with Michelin. It is hugely beneficial to the championship to have such a world renowned manufacturer on board. Michelin has proven to be the best tyre choice for many of our championship competitors.

Also returning for the 2018-19 season is the Michelin Cup, a specially designed championship run within the overall championship for competitors running on Michelin rubber. While the Michelin Cup will be revamped for the 2019 season, it will still give teams the chance to compete for free tyres on each round of the circuit rallying championship.

Tim Hoare, Michelin Motorsport Manager for the UK and Ireland commented: “We are extremely proud to continue supporting the MSN Circuit Rally Championship for a fourth year. The Championship has gone from strength to strength and really allies with our purpose of engaging with club rally competitors and ensuring they too can benefit from the Michelin Total Performance Rally product.

The 2018-19 season will get underway at Oulton Park in November 2018 before once again continuing to a spring finale.